Our main focus is the exploration and development of opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music. As an involved member of our industry, CARAS needs your participation to properly identify, reward, and promote the achievements of Canadian artists.

Your Involvement is Key.


The Canadian music industry continues to be shaped and influenced by the degree of energy and enthusiasm invested by those who participate in it. The future looks brighter than ever for Canadian music; our star system more impressive than ever. CARAS relies on the active participation of industry professionals like you to uphold the fundamental JUNO process; created specifically and solely to enhance our music industry through an annual, nationally televised awards show — the JUNO Awards.


The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) was formed in 1975 as an umbrella not-for-profit organization for The JUNO Awards – Canada’s Music Awards, MusiCounts, Canada’s music education program associated with CARAS and the Canadian Music Hall of Fame.


CARAS’ mandate is to promote and celebrate Canadian music and artists.

The JUNO Awards is Canada’s premier awards show, which encompass a week-long celebration of Canadian music, culminating in The JUNO Awards Broadcast where Canadian artists are recognized for excellence of achievement in recorded music.

MusiCounts, Canada’s music education charity associated with CARAS, is dedicated to ensuring that young Canadians regardless of socio-economic circumstances and cultural background have the opportunity to experience the joy of music, explore their talent, build self-esteem, and above all dream big.

CARAS Board of Directors

Chair/Executive Producer – Mark Cohon
Co-Owner, Georgian Bay Spirits Company

President & CEO/Executive Producer – Allan Reid
President & CEO, CARAS/JUNO Awards

1st Vice-Chair – Jeffrey Remedios
President & CEO, Universal Music

2nd Vice-Chair – Shane Carter
President, Sony Music Entertainment Canada Inc

Secretary – Christina Litz
Chief Brand and Communications Officer, True North Sports + Entertainment.

Julie Adam
President, News and Entertainment, Rogers Sport & Media

Bruce Allen
President, Bruce Allen Talent

Alexandra Bellamy
Managing Director, Head of Assurance and Advisory Canada Pension Plan Investment Board

Helen Britton
President & CEO, Management Six Shooter Inc.

Melissa Bubb-Clarke
Vice President, Music & Live Events Maple Leaf Sports & Entertainment

Kristen Burke
President, Warner Music Canada

Jennifer Dettman
Executive Director, Unscripted Content CBC

Erik Hoffman
President, Toronto Live Nation

Miro Oballa
Partner, Taylor Oballa Murray Leyland LLP Entertainment and Media Lawyers

Rob Zifarelli
Agent, Wasserman Music

Regional Representatives

Music Yukon


Music Ontario


Northwest Territories
Music NWT


Shevaughn Battle


British Columbia
Music BC


New Brunswick
Music NB


Alberta Music


Nova Scotia
Music Nova Scotia


Sask Music 


Prince Edward Island
Music PEI


Manitoba Music


Newfoundland and Labrador
Music NL


Northern Ontario
Music and Film in Motion






© 2022 The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS)